Vegan Chocolate Mousse

photo 2-8

I first saw this recipe made by a YouTuber I follow called Leyla. I have shown one of her other recipes on here before that was the Thai Mango Salad. She just makes a lot of amazing vegan recipes that I have to try myself. This recipe for chocolate mousse is one I have been wanting to try for a long time because of the strange ingredients. I could not believe that a mousse that is made with avocado would taste anything like chocolate. But I made it and it actually tastes nothing like avocado and has the same consistency as traditional mousse.

Ingredients

4 Ripe Avocados

4 Tablespoons unsweetened cocoa powder

3 Tablespoons honey or agave syrup (I used honey)

1 Teaspoon vanilla extract

1/2 Cup almond or coconut milk (I actually used dark chocolate almond milk because I forgot to buy the regular milk)

Making this is really simple and quick. You just have to cut up the avocado first and then add all the ingredients into a blender or food processor. A food processor is ideal but I only have a blender so I had to blend it for quite a while. I also put in the avocados like I’ve shown below and next time I would definitely cut them up into small pieces so that my blender doesn’t experience a complete meltdown.

IMG_3551IMG_3564

It’s amazing that with such few and simple ingredients you can create a really delicious chocolate mousse that is also healthy. Since I used dark chocolate almond milk mine ended up tasting very much like dark chocolate. You can also adjust this recipe to make it much sweeter. I don’t have a huge sweet tooth so I actually like the combination of ingredients I used. I also added some toffee almond granola to mine, honestly more for decoration purposes. Overall I am really surprised at how decent this was and how it didn’t taste anything like avocado. The fact that it’s healthy is definitely a bonus too!

For the original recipe check out RealLeyla’s channel at http://youtube.com/realleyla

photo 1-9

3 thoughts on “Vegan Chocolate Mousse

  1. It is amazing isn’t it that avocado and a little coco powder can turn into something so fabulous. Try adding a mango (altough I am not sure which I like better – with or without. It just makes for a fabulous variation) Love the idea of adding almond milk – I will give that a try!

Leave a Reply

