Steamed Salmon & Salad

IMG_2949

When it comes to salmon I can be pretty picky. I mainly like salmon raw as sashimi or sushi. I very rarely like Salmon cooked in terms of being fried or baked in an oven. There was one time my husband made salmon that was a complete freak accident, and it was amazing. The skin on each side was perfectly seared and crispy, while the inside was perfectly cooked. Never again have we been able to recreate it. Never. No matter what we do the sides do not come out crispy, so I gave up. But last week I tried steaming salmon in the rice cooker and it came out perfect! This is now in rotation for dinner because it’s so easy and only takes 30 minutes or less. All I do is put salt and lemon pepper seasoning on top of the salmon, and then drizzle some lemon or lime juice on top and let it steam. Surprisingly the white rice option on our rice cooker perfectly cooks both the rice and fish at the same time limit. I cook basmati rice along with the fish so my husband doesn’t starve, and then we both have it with salad.

photo 3-1

For the past few weeks I have really been liking putting kale into our salads. Kale has a bitter taste that adds both flavor and texture to a salad. I use both kale and red leaf lettuce, with tomatoes and avocado. I also add capsicum if I have any in the fridge. I think salads are usually more appetizing when they have a lot of textures and flavors going on in them. My husband also makes a light dressing that is really good using the following:

Dressing

1/2 cup Apple Cider Vinegar

1/2 Tbsp Olive Oil

1 Tbsp Steak Sauce

1 Tsp Italian Herbs

Don’t be thrown off by the steak sauce, it adds an extra bite to the flavor! Apple cider vinegar is a great alternative to store bought dressing because it has so much flavor. It’s both tart, sour and sweet. The perfect combination for salads. Apple cider vinegar has countless health benefits too, so this salad is like a superfood beast!

photo 1-9photo-17

Leave a Reply

