Vegan Bean Patties and Zucchini & Quinoa Bites – A slight fail

I once again tried my hand at making vegan food for family get-togethers. I am not vegan myself but as someone who is allergic to dairy products I definitely can appreciate the food. I also try to make as many environmentally conscious decisions as I can. Even though it’s more expensive I try to buy organic animal products. I have been cutting back on red meat and haven’t eaten it in a while. I’ve mostly been eating turkey and seafood. I love a lot of vegan food but I am also anemic so the one time I tried being vegetarian my anemia got so bad that I had to visit my doctor once a week to have iron injections. I still have some bruising from that! At the same time I am aware of all the iron sources in food, my body just absorbs iron differently to most people so I have to be careful. Anyhow, I didn’t go too far here, I just tried making one appetizer from some pictures I saw online and some bean patties.

Zucchini & Quinoa Bites

IMG_2842

These can actually be made with cucumber which may be a better option considering the small amount of people who actually like squash. My husband absolutely hates anything to do with squash but he still tried one and said it wasn’t bad. I’m sure that will sell you on them! I am a fan of all vegetables so I love squash myself, and I love quinoa. On top I just put some chili paste because everything has to be spicy for me. These are really easy to make as you can probably see, and they are a good appetizer to have that are healthy. Because I used zucchini I first slightly seared the zucchini in a pan with a tiny amount of olive oil.

IMG_2820

The quinoa is easy to cook and there are various ways to cook it but I was a bit lazy and just used my rice cooker. Quinoa is also really good because for those wanting to avoid starchy carbs this is actually a seed. So it’s very light! The chili paste really adds most of the flavor here as well, but you can add whatever sauce you want really.

  IMG_2843        IMG_2847

All you have to do is then carve out little holes in the zucchini and add a small teaspoon of the quinoa.

IMG_2827

And that’s it!

IMG_2835

Mixed Bean Patties

IMG_2880

I’m going to be honest and say these were a slight fail. I wanted to create a mixed bean patty that was crispy on the outside. I however will be the first to admit that I am not the world’s greatest cook. I was really trying to create a patty without too many ingredients and definitely without the use of flour or potatoes. I used black beans, lentils and barley for these with salt, pepper, chili flakes (of course), and some coriander. I first just cooked all the beans and grain until they were soft. I used a small crockpot (slow cooker) because I wanted to just leave it and not have to watch it. Then I just blended all the ingredients and used flaxseed mixed with water to replace egg, just to make it hold better. Unfortunately this was not the case and it ended up being too wet. I ended up adding half a cup of whole wheat flour, which isn’t that bad anyhow. I tried frying some in a pan but they were still too moist so I ended up just baking them in the oven for 20 minutes.

The barley and lentils cooked.

IMG_2856

I actually learnt from http://ohsheglows.com that you can replace egg using the mixture of a tablespoon or  more (depending on your recipe), mixed with water. It works really well.

IMG_2862IMG_2872

So anyhow, while they didn’t end up that crispy on the outside they were still pretty good and strangely addicting. Even my husband who is a big meat fan brought them to work today to eat instead of his usual lunch! He was also a champ for eating zucchini when he says the thought of them usually makes him gag. So this wasn’t a complete success but I’ll just have to try again or maybe stick to my vegan falafels.

For a much better vegan cook check out: 

http://http://ohsheglows.com”

Leave a Reply

