Hiking in California

This memorial day I am grateful to all the vets who protect not only the U.S. but many other countries. I am not an American citizen but I have been living in California for about five years now, and I definitely have a lot of respect for anyone who volunteers their time and their life to the army. I don’t even agree with any kind of war, but lets keep politics out of a discussion for once and just be grateful for the peaceful countries we live in.

I also pushed myself to get up early today and get out for a hike at a nearby trail. I love hiking and like exploring many different trails. I used to live near a hike where if you went up the tougher trail you got to see a beautiful waterfall at the end of it. The hardest hike I have ever done is definitely Cowles Mountain in San Diego. It is very popular and really steep, so you’re trying to climb around this winding trail while dodging hundreds of people. Okay it’s probably not hundreds, but close. I am just not a fan of gyms, they are boring to me and I’d rather hike than be on a treadmill. Of course many people enjoy gyms more than the outdoors, but what’s important is finding exercise that you enjoy doing and becomes more of a favourite pasttime than a chore.

I am hoping to have a weekend free to drive up to Sequoia soon and see those amazing tall trees. Seeing Sequioa and Yosemite are definitely two goals of mine before I return to my beautiful hometown Queensland again.

Anyhow, here are some photos I took this morning on my hike. I used my iPhone this time rather than my DSLR camera.

Sycamore Canyon Park, Riverside, California

This hike has a warning for rattle snakes and sheep. Sheep? Where would these sheep come from?

photo-7

photo 3-4

photo 2

photo 2-6

photo 1

This hike is also attached to a beautiful park.

photo-5

Leave a Reply

