Persistence

One of the hardest things to deal with when trying to achieve any goal is realizing and accepting that it’s going to take time. Most big things you want to accomplish do not happen overnight, or even in just a few weeks. For me it’s hard to accept how much longer I have to be in school for, or how much longer it will take for me to lose weight, or get over some of my other “flaws”.

One of the stupidest things I do when I’m trying to lose weight is get frustrated when I don’t look like the “After” picture by week 3. You know when you’ve been eating really well and working out, and you feel lighter, but then you weigh yourself or look in the mirror and you’re like, what the #$@! I always have to remind myself not to weigh (excuse the pun) too heavily on the number on the scale. I think you see physically that you are changing before it’s reflected on a scale. Or at least I tell myself that to stop myself from falling into a dark depression!

But what I tell myself is the story of the train. I don’t know why I chose a train, but whatever. When you’re working on a goal it really is the difference between being a train that is parked at Central Unfulfilled Station collecting cobwebs, and being the train that is moving along, slowly, but getting closer to its destination. Which one of those trains is going to reach the ultimate goal?

So, even though that is the lamest story ever told, the visualization of it really keeps me on track. Excuse the pun.

When you really think about it, how long it takes for you to get to your goal is nothing compared to the scope of your lifetime; and what’s more, all the years you’ve been unhappy. How many things would you have accomplished if you had just stuck to them and not given up? It could be completing a book, losing the weight, making a movie, or opening a business. A lot of times I stop and think, If I had stuck to the diet I started 3 months ago I would have been at my goal weight by now. I often mark in my calendar when I expect to have achieved my goal, so when I get to that date and see I’m still at square one it’s pretty disheartening, and eye-opening.

photo-4

 

Leave a Reply

